Journal writing… reflective practice

date
setting of event
title
space for comments

who was there
what happened
where
when
why
how

What are the facts about what happened?

What was my role?

What feelings and senses surrounded events?

What did I do?

What did I feel about what I did? Why?

What was the setting?

What was the flow of events?

What were the important elements of the event?

What preceded and followed the event?

What might I be aware of if the situation recurs?

What theory is this event consistent with?

How does this theory explain this event?

Is this theory consistent with my beliefs about the event?

Should I consider the event from another theoretical perspective?

Keep sentences short, simple

Description… Reflection… Comments…

[I think these are notes from a University of Auckland paper… dunno!]

About backyardbooks

This blog is a kind of electronic storage locker for ideas and quotes that inform my research... literary research into fiction for young adults (with a special focus on New Zealand fiction). Kiwis are producing amazing literature for younger readers, but it isn't getting the academic appreciation it deserves. I hope readers of this blog can make use of the material I gather and share by way of promoting our fiction. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Teaching excellence and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

