Later I thought of many better answers, but this is what I said

This was another moment I really enjoyed when reading Jane Katch’s Under Deadman’s Skin. She has some very honest moments while writing up her teacher research:

The children are discussing the recent school shooting in Littleton, Colorado, and one of the boys claims he knows about it because he went there; “The children look at him, surprised. ‘No,’ I tell him. ‘You didn’t.’ Later I thought of many better answers, but this is what I said.
‘Well, I heard it on the news, he amends his story.” (pp.113-114)

It’s such a simple, honest statement, but so true of so many teaching moments. Our answers often don’t reach for the stars in terms of teaching excellence, but I like this idea of acknowledging it openly and working on with how the children respond. I really appreciated her honesty here.

Ref: (emphases in blue bold mine) Jane Katch (c2001) Under Deadman’s Skin: Discovering the meaning of children’s violent play. Beacon Press: Boston, Massachusetts

About backyardbooks

This blog is a kind of electronic storage locker for ideas and quotes that inform my research... literary research into fiction for young adults (with a special focus on New Zealand fiction). Kiwis are producing amazing literature for younger readers, but it isn't getting the academic appreciation it deserves. I hope readers of this blog can make use of the material I gather and share by way of promoting our fiction. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Teaching excellence and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

